In 1974, Adam Crossley left $15,604.26 of his estate to serve the people
of Minnedosa and district. With Crossley’s estate and a $100.00 donation
in memory of Maxine Stewart, the Foundation was an
established local charity.

The Minnedosa Town Council appointed James Chipperfield, Ed Taylor,
and Hazel Vellam to the first serving board of the Foundation.

Shortly after the Foundation’s inception in 1975, it created the first
“In Memoriam” donation envelope, a version of which is still
available today to make donations in loved one’s names. Local groups
and people started taking interest in the money the Foundation
was collecting, and that is how the Foundation began giving,
what are now, annual grants.

In the next 30 years, as donations came in slowly, the Foundation tried
to inform the people of Minnedosa and area of its role,
while continuing to give annual grants to local projects and
organizations to better the community.

In 2008, the Foundation sponsored the Minnedosa Homecoming Opening Ceremonies, and began a luncheon to recognize grant recipients each year. It also created annual/semi-annual newsletters, which are still published to date.

Since initial donations in memory of Maxine Stewart and Adam Crossley, the Foundation has relied on the citizens of Minnedosa and area to grow its funds. Historically citizens have made memorial donations, estate donations, and straight tax deductible donations to increase the Foundation’s assets. Today, the Foundation has a wide variety of
donation options you can explore here.

Community Donations of $500 and more

Neil Cameron  $                   500
Minnedosa Rotary Club (EMS Fund)  $               5,000
Minnedosa & District Health Auxilary (EMS Fund)  $               5,000
Minnedosa Lions Club  $               2,000
David Tesarowski  $                   500
Jack Gibbons  $                   700
Bette Paterson  $               1,000
Minnedosa Chamber of Commerce (in honour of Burgess Family)  $               2,000
Minnedosa Christmas Dinner Fund 2015  $                   500
Jean Burton  $                   800
RBC  $               2,000
Minnedosa Tribune  $                   865
Minnedosa Heritage Coop  $                   500
Audra Caughill  $               1,000
Ladies Orange Benevolent organization  $                   600
Rick Everett Memoriam  $               2,029
Red River Valley Insurance Co.  $               5,000
Betty Steffens  $               1,000
Susan Proven  $               1,000

Estate Donations:

Adam Crossley$15,604.26
William Burgess$1,000.00
Art Wilson$5,000.00
Jack Wareham$26,846.00
Dora Marsh$21,956.00
Raymond Girling$122,619.00
Leonard Averill$65,673.00
Verna Averill$1,061,846
Isabel M Stewart$10,000.00

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s